My Presentation

20 11 2008

Despite some technical difficuluties at the beginning of the session, I still had the allotted amount of time to give my presentation.  It went off without a hitch, except perhaps for some stumbling over sherd type, i.e. cooking pot vs. bowl.  The room was fairly full, about 50 people, including big names in Israel and Jordan archaeology (such as Ami Mazar, Larry Herr, and others).  After I received congratulations from Don Wimmer (director of the project in the 80’s and 90’s) and several others (Suzanne Richard, Doug Clark, Larry Herr, and others) who are glad that the material is finally being deciphered.  I also had a spirited conversation with Larry Herr, Randall Younker, Paul Ray, and others about the date of certain vessel types.  I was very glad when Larry said that I showed a good grasp of the material and that he agreed with the majority of period designations.  All in all I was relieved and happy, a successful, first presentation at the ASOR annual meeting.


Actions

Information

3 responses

21 11 2008
marthejo

nice mountain

23 11 2008
Forest Rittgers

Congratulations. You should feel encouraged. The first one is always the toughest. The next one will be a breeze.

25 11 2008
ochesnut

Thanks Forest!

Leave a comment