Quick Update

13 07 2011

I am between touring around with my parents and sister, and beginning my survey work on Friday so there has been no time for blogging.  Just wanted to stop by and give a quick update.

My parents and sister flew in for 8 days and we spent the time touring all over Jordan, from Jerash and Umm Qais in the north to Petra, Wadi Rum, and Aqaba in the south and everywhere in between.  We all had a great time, saw a lot of great sites, ate a lot of delicious food, and were all quite exhausted by the end.

Of course, the next day I had to give a presentation at the Second Annual Regional Archaeology Conference in Madaba.  The point of the conference is for all the different digs that are in the field during the summer to get together and share what they have been working on.  Even though I didn’t dig at Jalul this season, everyone from the team left Jordan about a month ago, so gave an overview on phase 1 of excavations at Jalul (the first 10 seasons) with a focus on what was excavated this season.  Other digs that gave talks included:  Wadi Zarqa Ma’in, Tall Madaba, Tall al ‘Umayri, Tall Hisban, Wadi Thamad Project, and Dhiban.

This morning I went to the Department of Antiquities and picked up my project permit.  It was very exciting to have in my hands.  I was amused to note that I am apparently Dr. Owen Chesnut on the permit, hopefully in a year en shallah.  Friday I begin working by setting up a new benchmark and control points on the summit of Tall Safut and then Saturday and Sunday I am walking the site with the GPS to create a new topographic map and outlining any walls.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

