Back Again

19 08 2010

In the immortal words of Timbaland:

It’s been a long time, shouldn’t have left you, without a dope beat to step to.

It has been a long time since I last posted and I apologize for not giving you that archaeological beat to intellectually step to (or something like that).  It has been over a year and I profusely apologize.  Last summer I excavated for almost two months and spent that time keeping up the Jalul Dig Blog.  After I returned to the States my time was occupied with studying for and taking my PhD exams (which I passed with flying colors).  The scholarly meetings and holidays happened, then it was time to dive in to researching and writing my dissertation.  It was during this time that I should have started blogging again (seeing has how that is kind of the point of the blog), but for some reason I couldn’t bring myself to put digital pen to digital pad.  I excavated again at Jalul this past May, then went on vacation and now here I am, back on the blog.

I am working on researching and writing the dissertation, as well as working in the archaeology building here at Andrews University.  In the spring I found out that I had received an ACOR fellowship, meaning I will be spending 6 months in 2011 living in Amman (along with my wife Angela, son Jack, and our new baby) and working on my dissertation.  This fellowship is the real impetus for returning to blogging because it will be the best way to share my experiences in Jordan to those back in the States.  However in the meantime quite a bit has happened (and will be happening) on the dissertation and in my scholarly life, and I will be regularly updating the blog once again.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

