Ode to Shea

30 09 2008

A very well written article on a fan’s last trip to Shea Stadium, while bittersweet it does help soften the events of this past Sunday.

I started listening to Mets games in the late ’80’s/ early ’90’s on an old transistor radio and it’s memories of Bob Murphy calling a Bobby Bonilla home run or even an Eddie Murphy one that I think back on fondly.  Later it was everything Mike Piazza did, at least at the plate, that would bring a smile to my face.  I’ve been to Shea several times throughout my youth and never thought of it as dingy, merely because I would see my favorite team play.  So, I will miss that stadium and the memories it brings up, but I will also be very happy to start anew, a fresh slate in a new ballpark after how the past two seasons have ended.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

