Initiation

25 08 2008

I was emailing back and forth with my dad about politics.  We were talking about at what point did we begin seriously following the current election.  I figured that I had been following politics closely for about a year, the first time in my life that I had really done so.  I’ve always been interested in politics and current events, and kept up with everything so I could at least have an opinion on any given subject.

However this past year has been different, I think in part due to the historic nature of the Democratic primary (and the competitive nature of the Republican one).  But as I was thinking about why I am so tuned in, and why I have been seeking out so much information, I had an epiphany of sorts…I have entered manhood.  A little over a year ago I got married, in April I found out my wife was pregnant with our first child (a boy!), and I am now nearing the end of my schooling and am transitioning into teaching.  In other words, I have been initiated, I am now a man.  I have to provide and take care of two lives, beyond my own.  I am responsible for more and with this responsibility I now realize that I take the political process that much more seriously.

The decisions our country makes collectively, and the decisions I make as an individual during this election season, will affect the life of my child and my family more so than my own.  And it is with this fact in mind that I weigh every video clip and every sound bite.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

